Skip to content
giftcountdown

Comparison, as of 3 November 2026

Digital advent calendars compared: which one suits whom?

There are free and paid online advent calendars. Some need an app, some count down to any date, some are built for companies. We compared nine providers on the same criteria, using only what their own websites say. giftcountdown is our own product and is on the list with its limits.

€14.90 once per calendar VAT included (US: $14.90 plus sales tax).
Designing and previewing is free. You only pay when you send it.

Product preview of giftcountdown, one of the digital advent calendars compared
Product preview: giftcountdown, one of the nine products compared.

Personal, not generic

The short answer.

Free and quick: AdventMyFriend or MyAdvent's free version. A gift for one person, with your voice, your own videos, a quiz and a ready-made template for all 24 doors: giftcountdown. A countdown to a date other than Christmas: Ouvella, Unveil or DailyReveal. A company campaign: Türchen or online-adventkalender.com.

Three typical cases

What are you looking for?

Three situations and which providers fit them, according to their own pages.

01

Free

Quick and free

AdventMyFriend is completely free; MyAdvent and Unveil have free versions with photos and texts.

02

For one person

Personal and designed

giftcountdown: templates for all 24 doors, voice, your own videos, quiz, three designs, €14.90 once. Ouvella and Unveil also aim at gifts for one person.

03

Another date

Countdown to a reunion

Ouvella, Unveil, DailyReveal and MyAdvent also count down to a date of your choice, according to their pages.

What makes giftcountdown different

More than 24 photos behind doors.

From you. For one person.

How it becomes your gift.

  1. Start with a template

    Choose a design and start with a template for a partner, family, friends or children – or with an empty calendar.

  2. Add your own moments

    Edit the texts, choose photos, record a message. Review and save all 24 doors before you send the calendar.

  3. Unlock and send the link

    After payment you get your gift link. The recipient opens it in the browser, without an app account.

Our limits, honestly.

giftcountdown is an advent calendar for 1 to 24 December, not a countdown to any date. All 24 doors are filled and reviewed before you give it. There is no free version for giving, and after 31 January the calendar and its media are deleted. In return you get templates for every door, your own videos, voice messages, quizzes and three fully designed worlds, with no ads and no app.

See what a finished example calendar looks like →

Nine providers at a glance

As of 3 November 2026, based on the providers' own websites (mostly their German pages). “Not stated” means the page says nothing clear about it; we do not guess. Prices and features can change.

Digital advent calendars compared, as of 3 November 2026
ProviderFree?Paid versionDoors / periodYour voiceOwn videosFor the recipientFill doors after it starts
giftcountdownDesigning and preview free€14.90 once per calendar (US: $14.90 + tax)24, from 1 to 24 DecemberYes, record in the browserYes, with a confirmed emailBrowser, no account, no adsNo, all 24 before giving
MyAdventYes: photos, texts, voice messages up to 20 s, YouTubePro €5.99, Pro+ €11.99 once, each valid 3 monthsOwn period up to 90 daysYes, longer with ProWith ProNo account needed (per site)Not stated
OuvellaCreating and preview free€14.99 once per calendar3 to 31, Advent or countdownYes, in the browserNot mentioned on the calendar pageBrowser, no accountYes, until the last day
UnveilYes, up to 31 days with photos and textsPremium €9.99 once per calendarUp to 31 days, date selectableWith PremiumWith PremiumNo account neededYes, add to empty days later
online-adventkalender.comYes, one calendarFamily €9.90, business packages cost more24, time adjustableAudio in paid packagesYesBrowser, no account, no appNot stated
AdventMyFriendYes, completelyNone1 to 31Not statedAs a link, e.g. YouTubeBrowser, no accountNot stated
DailyReveal2 trial calendars up to 7 doors after sign-upFrom €5.90 onceUp to 25, 50 or 100 doors by packageYesYes, upload or YouTubeWeb link or app, no app requiredYes, editable any time
Advent AppYes, with a short ad before each doorOne-time ad-free purchase (amount not stated on the website)24YesYes, up to 60 sApp installation required, no accountYes, until the opening day
Türchen10-day trialOnce per calendar (price on the provider's site)Period adjustableNot statedYesNot statedYes, even on the same day

Quick pick: which provider for what?

When giftcountdown fits and when it doesn't

giftcountdown fits when the calendar is for someone who matters to you and you don't want to start from scratch. The templates for partners, family, friends and children give all 24 doors a starting point. You add your own photos and videos, record your voice, build in a quiz or vouchers and choose one of three worlds, including the Sleigh Ride for children.

Another provider fits better if it should be free, if you want to fill the doors gradually after giving it, if you are counting down to a date other than Christmas, or if the calendar should stay online after 31 January.

What matters in an online advent calendar

How this comparison was made

On 3 November 2026 we read each provider's public pages: the home page and, where available, pricing and help pages. Every entry in the table comes from there. Where a page is unclear, the table says “not stated”.

We chose providers that appear in German-language searches for “digital advent calendar” or “create an online advent calendar” and have a German-language page. giftcountdown is our own product. There are no affiliate links, and nobody paid to be included.

Spotted a mistake or a price change? Write to hello@giftcountdown.com and we will correct it.

Good to know

Before you start.

Is there a free digital advent calendar?

Yes. According to their websites (as of 3 November 2026), AdventMyFriend is completely free, MyAdvent has a free version with voice messages up to 20 seconds, and Unveil is free with photos and texts for up to 31 days. With giftcountdown, designing and previewing are free; giving costs €14.90.

Which online advent calendar works without an app?

Most providers compared open in the browser. With Advent App, the recipient has to install the app according to its website. giftcountdown needs neither an app nor an account.

Which provider suits a long-distance relationship?

What matters is that doors open in the recipient's time zone. According to their pages, giftcountdown, Ouvella and DailyReveal do this, among others. giftcountdown opens each door at midnight in the time zone of the recipient's device.

How long can the calendar be opened?

Doors unlock daily from 1 to 24 December. Access lasts until 31 January of the following year (UTC). After that, the calendar and its media are deleted, so it is not a permanent photo archive.

How much does it cost to send?

Sending costs €14.90 once per calendar, VAT included; in the US it is $14.90 plus applicable sales tax. There is no subscription. You can design your calendar for free and look at the preview before you decide to buy.

Sources

A small joy that comes from you

Make this December personal.

Create your calendar

Try it first. Decide at your own pace.